President / General Manager – Jeff Chynoweth

Jeff Chynoweth has been part of the Kootenay ICE organization since its inception in October 1995.  Jeff is entering his 29th season in the Western Hockey League and 14th year as General Manager.  He was named the 2004-2005 WHL Executive of the Year and has worked in various positions throughout his tenure in the League.  Jeff and his wife Michele are the parents of two children – Courtney (21) and Ryan (19).

1986 – 1987 – Spokane Chiefs
1987 – 1988 – Medicine Hat Tigers
1988 – 1989 – Brandon Wheat Kings
1989 – 1991 – Lethbridge Hurricanes
1991 – 1995 – Red Deer Rebels
1995 – Present – Kootenay ICE


Head Coach – Ryan McGill

In his second stint with the ICE, Ryan McGill begins his third season as bench boss.  Last season McGill led Kootenay to their 16th consecutive playoff berth and first round win over the Calgary Hitmen despite dealing with numerous injuries and sickness to key players in the last two months of the regular season.  Ryan is the all-time leader in coaching victories with the ICE (248-196-50 career regular season record), including back-to-back 100 point seasons (1999-2000 and 2000-2001), six playoff appearances, two Conference titles, two WHL Championships (2000 and 2002), one Memorial Cup Championship (2002) and one WHL Coach of the Year Award (2012-2013). McGill left Kootenay following the 2002 Memorial Cup and spent seven years in the American Hockey League as Head Coach of the Hartford Wolf Pack (2002-2005) and Omaha Ak-Sar-Ben Knights / Quad City Flames (2005-2009). He was promoted to Assistant Coach with the Calgary Flames in June 2009 and spent two years with the NHL Club.  Ryan McGill is a native of Sherwood Park, Alberta.  Ryan and his wife Karen are parents of two girls - Kate (15) and Kyla (11).


Assistant Coach - Jay Henderson

Athletic Therapist - Cory Cameron



Goaltending Coach - Mike Bergren

Director of Scouting - Garnet Kazuik

Scouting Consultant – Carter Sears

Director of Sales & Public Relations - Chris Wahl

Sales Consultant - Don MacMillan


Office Manager - Sara Jerke

Bookkeeper / Anthemist – Robin Sudo

Education Advisor - Nella Rounsville

Play-by-Play Announcer - Jeff Hollick

Skill Development Coach - Wayne Dougherty

Scouts - Peter Dubbeldam (BC), Scott Perry (BC), Dallas Thompson (BC), Gregg Schaalje (AB), Wayne Dougherty (AB), Ward Edwards (SK), Scott Frizzell (SK), Tim Stoll (SK / MB), Tim Schick (MB).

Club Physician - Dr. Alex Chan, Dr. Ross Dawson, Dr. Keith Lowden

Club Dentist - Dr. Chris Callen, Dr Scott Harris

Game Night Coordinator - Sherri Nelson

Off Ice Official Coordinator - John MacDonald

Public Address Announcer - Steve Russell

Music Operator - Harry Grombach

Video Operator - Brennan Weaver

Team Photographer - Chris Pullen

Mental Skills Consultant - Steve Kamps

Club Physiotherapist - Cranbrook Physio Clinic

Off Ice Official Volunteers - Steve Chisholm, Gord Jowsey, Sandie Leslie, Jon McWhirter, Mary Hennig, Les Headrick, John Wiebe, Kjol Bjordahl, Wilf Dilling, Wayne Doll, Chris Erickson